Health and Wellness
Alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Full text database covering topics such as aging, AIDs, cancer, children's health, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition, sports medicine, women's health and other topics. Features searchable full text for nearly 150 journals and is updated on a daily basis. Includes Lexi-PALS drug content, which covers over 1,000 generic medications, 100 natural products and 19 vaccines.
Well-BeingEssentials delivers insightful best practices, tools and advice on health and wellness issues most important for students and patrons. This supportive tool covers issues pertaining to daily living, working/ studying smarter, family and care giving.
• Career Development • Emotional Well-Being • Healthy Living • Personal Finance • Relationships • Stress Management
Travel and Culture
Get country facts and answers to your intercultural questions from a Canadian and a local point of view. This information is provided by the Centre for Intercultural Learning.
Travel Reports offer information on safety and security, local laws and customs, entry requirements, health conditions and other important travel issues. The information is provided by Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.
Newspapers and Magazines
Offers full text for more than 2,000 serials, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985. Updated on a daily basis.
Business database provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. Updated on a daily basis.
Canadian Newsstand provides full text access to articles from major Canadian newspapers. Photos, illustrations, graphs, classified ads, advertisements, and stock market reports are excluded. Articles are added to the database 7 days after publication.
Use this database to search a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, newspapers, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other references. Much of the content is full text.
Combines Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to Canadian libraries. This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals in full text; full text reference books; full text biographies and an Image Collection. Updated on a daily basis.
Through NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the world's largest archive of online newspapers, you can access 2,893 newspaper titles online including The Lethbridge Herald and The Lethbridge Daily Herald. Use the archive to view, save and print full-page newspapers from around the world. Content on Access NewspaperARCHIVE is a unique primary resource, as newspapers provide information as news happened and not necessarily the way it was remembered. This resource is available exclusively to Lethbridge Public Library patrons.
A multidisciplinary database which provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, including general reference, business, health, education and general science topics. Includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags. Updated daily.
Save A Tree! Read Online!
800 newspapers 80 countries 40 languages
Lethbridge Public Library is proud to offer free online access for all patrons to daily issues of newspapers from around the world.
Visit our periodicals department for details.
Provides full text coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas in the U. S. Updated daily.
Consumer Information
Consumer Reports offers:
- Scientific tests and ratings of thousands of products every year.
- More than 100 experts working in 7 major areas:
- Appliances, Cars, Baby and Kids, Electronics, Foods, Health and Family, Recreation and Home Improvement
- Information that empowers consumers to make the best purchasing decision.
Car Repair
Welcome to ALLDATA, the leading provider of electronic diagnostic and repair information and services for the automotive service industry. • Manufacturer TSBs and recalls updated daily • Crisp, clear OEM wiring diagrams with connector, ground, power distribution and splice locations • Maintenance tables - view service interval data on one screen • Automatic repair information updates
You cannot use this database at home. It can only be accessed if you are at the Main or Crossings branch of Lethbridge Public Library.
EBSCO Publishing has partnered with Point 5 Technologies to create Auto Repair Reference Center™. Auto Repair Reference Center contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945. Database content includes approximately 26,000 vehicles covered from 1945 to present; over 150,000 factory drawings and step-by-step photographs; approximately 70,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer; over 100,000 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing; specifications & maintenance schedules; Labor Time Guide & Estimator; AutoIQ; Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance; and much more. New repair procedures and updates will also be added continuously. All of the content in Auto Repair Reference Center has been created by ASE certified technicians.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Reference
Our Future, Our Past: The Alberta Heritage Digitization Project (AHDP) is an ongoing, not-for-profit endeavor to provide all those interested in Alberta's history free, online access to cultural and heritage materials. Browse newspapers from 1885, read entire books about local communities, research legal documents, view historic photographs, and more. Collections include: art, local histories, Calgary Stampede history, medical history, early Alberta newspapers, multicultural Alberta, educational modules, municipal by-laws, Grande Prairie photographs, Nitsitapiisinni: Kainai plants and culture, historical air photos, Southern Alberta folklore, and legal history.
Imagine Canada’s essential research tool for the Not-for-profit sector. Search for public and private foundations based on geographical area and funding interests.
You cannot use this database at home. It can only be accessed if you are at the Main or Crossings branch of Lethbridge Public Library.
With the aid of its partners and the generous support of Heritage Canada, Historica presents this site free of charge to all Canadians and to interested users around the world. The site contains the complete text of the acclaimed Canadian Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities, feature articles, games, the Canucklehead Quiz, and an extensive timeline of Canadian and world events. The entire text can be searched via the simple search or advanced search and the user can switch languages at any time.
This resource provides students with essays on different sides of a topic. It offers 480 essays on 120 topics, including the environment, health, human rights, race, technology, substance abuse, and more. Use the many features of this tool to develop better arguments and critical thinking skills.
Credo is an online reference service with the full text of 550+ titles from the world's top reference publishers including biographies, reference books, and foreign language dictionaries.
Explore the history of Canada's inhabitants and their culture, through this online database of people who played an important role in the formation of what is now Canada. A major research and publishing project launched by the University of Toronto and the Université Laval in 1959, this first phase of the project provides access to the published biographies of persons who died between the years 1000 and 1930 or whose last known date of activity falls within these years. Integrated into the country's largest archival repository, the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online even paves the way to more extensive research.
A digital library providing access to more than 2 million pages of Canada's printed heritage. It features works published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th Century. Collections included are: Canadian Women's History, Colonial Government Journals, The Early Governors General of Canada, Early Official Publications, English Canadian Literature, History of French Canada, History of the Hudson's Bay Company, Jesuit Relations, Native Studies, and Reconstituted Debates.
Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopaedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopaedia and the Britannica Book of the year. Features of this resource include: * An Internet directory with links to Web sites, selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors * Articles and illustrations, including photos, drawings, maps, and flags * Definitions with pronunciation guides and word histories * Advanced search and navigation capabilities Britannica Online for Kids includes Compton’s Encyclopedia for middle school students, Compton's Elementary Encyclopedia for elementary students, Merriam-Webster’s Student Dictionary and Thesaurus. Features of the Kids' interface include: * Important People - learn about notable people born on today’s date * Big Events - bring the past to the present with key dates in world history * Featured Spotlights - go in-depth with encyclopedia articles, images, videos, maps, and interactivities covering topics such as Black History, Women’s History and D-Day * Student Center A-Z Browse * World Atlas - examine maps of continents, countries, states, and oceans and find related articles * Timeline - trace the history of different subjects through time * How To… - step-by-step instructions to help students with their schoolwork * Video Browse - browse video clips by subject * Learning Materials - explore interactive lessons, exercises, and activities * Biographies - browse thousands of articles profiling world leaders, artists, scientists, authors and more All information is updated daily by Encyclopaedia Britannica editors and contributors, making this database a valuable reference and research tool for its users.
An online dictionary useful in finding the definitions of a word or phrase. The full-text of all available definitions, etymologies, and quotations may also be searched. Subscribe to OED's RSS feed to get a 'word of the day' sent to your Inbox. The OED is also a historical dictionary, providing the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words, both past and present.
Since 1917, World Book, Inc., has published reference materials for both children and adults that can be depended upon for accuracy, objectivity, and reliability in research. This online reference centre lets you search a variety of reference sources at once and includes the following: * Atlas – containing approximately 750 maps * Back in Time - 14,000 historic articles * Behind the Headlines feature * Dictionary - 250,000 entries * Educators’ Tools – includes topic enrichment resources, classroom activities, and links to lesson plans * Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos - World Book's intermediate Spanish-language encyclopedia * Encyclopedia- more than 26,000 encyclopedia articles, for grades 4 through 12 and adults * Explore Alberta - provides links to resources in World Book Online Reference Center. It also provides assignment topics that lead to in-depth research and links to study-skills information * Features of the Month - special online features filled with articles, multimedia, and interactive quizzes * Magazine Articles - lists of relevant magazine articles for many World Book articles * Media Showcase Feature * Pictures and Illustrations - photographs, animal illustrations, reproductions of great works of art, and more * Sounds - audio clips of bird songs, popular and classical music, national anthems, and more * Special Reports - nearly 400 in-depth feature articles focus on issues surrounding timely topics, important current events, and obituaries of famous people * Student Resources - collection of tools and information to aid you in finding topics for study, conducting research, and reporting in writing or by speech * Surf the Ages – use this special feature to dip into imaginary news sites from Ancient Times, The Middle Ages, or Modern Times * Tables - approximately 2,000 tables cover a huge range from facts about countries to important dates * Today in History - each day of the year important persons or events are showcased * Videos and Animations - more than 100 videos and animations. (Requires Adobe Flash plug-in) * Web Sites - editor selected Web sites, which are linked to relevant World Book articles * What's New - explore some of the highlights of World Book's many new and revised articles
Computers and Technology
ITPro provides a vast library of best in class, recent and authoritative content spanning hundreds of technology topics. Patrons can search, browse and view every word, graphic, code example and table from thousands of titles.
• Databases • Hardware • Operating Systems • Programming Languages • Software Engineering • Telecommunications
OfficeEssentials offers practical, ‘how-to’ information on the most commonly used desktop programs employed in today’s environments.
• Graphics & Design • Handheld Devices • Macintosh® OS • Microsoft® Office 2003, 2007 • Microsoft Windows® XP, Vista
Family History
Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to you through our library. It’s an unprecedented online collection of individuals from North America, the UK, Europe, Australia, and more.
You cannot use this database at home. It can only be accessed if you are at the Main or Crossings branch of Lethbridge Public Library.
Sciences
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals, and includes full text for more than 71 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
The Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. Includes full text of more than 2200 digests and citation information for an additional 1000 educational journals.
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 1,772,000 records from more than 1,660 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,094 active core titles) as well as more than 100 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 600 journals.
Fiction, Poetry, Literature and the Arts
Booklist is a 100-year-old journal, published by the American Library Association, whose core mission is to provide public and school librarians with reviews that help them decide what to buy, and can also be used to make reading recommendations. Booklist Online is both a free Web site and a subscription database. The free site offers a generous selection of Booklist content—plus some Web-only features—and is updated daily or weekly, depending on the portion of the site. All the content on the home page can be accessed without a subscription, including any links on the homepage. The content of other main pages on the site is also free - Adult Books, Books for Youth, Media, and Reference. The subscription database contains archived reviews and features that are dynamically linked. The database contains over 100,000 reviews and thousands of features dating back to 1992. Much of the older material is searchable but not linked in the way newer content is.
Global books in print is an indispensible tool for librarians, booksellers, educators, students, and patrons -- anyone researching English-language books, videos, audio cassettes, and publishers all over the world. Access over 6 million English-language titles published in the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and other countries. BIP includes tables of contents, full text reviews, and annotations. Sub-search areas include: the Children's Room, Fiction Room, and Forthcoming Books Room. Includes an author biography database.
Consists of book and reference content from Essays on Canadian Writing Press (ECW Press). ECW Press also provides several individual monographs and biographies, essays and literary criticism. The database includes book reviews, essays, author biographies, and much more. Updated on a daily basis.
Looking for that next good read? A complimentary resource for Global Books in Print subscribers, Fiction Connection is Bowker’s new readers' advisory product. Use Fiction Connection to discover titles similar to those you already enjoy. Or feel free to browse titles by topic, genre, setting, character, location, and timeframe.
A fiction database for over 135,000 fiction titles. Content includes: subject headings, reviews, summaries, author read-alikes, 'what we're reading', book discussion guides, booktalks, and annotated book lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are picture book extenders and articles on teaching with fiction.
From the 1920s to the dawn of the 21st century, Greenwood’s Pop Culture Universe covers everything that has ever been popular – from the world-changing historical events to trivia and trends. Learn about history, music, movies, politics, art and more by browsing the decades, or search the database for specific people, places and events.
Not only is this resource useful – it’s fun!
Mega Searches
Online Training
Career Cruising is “an industry-leading online career guidance and planning system. People of all ages use our tools to find the right career, explore education and training options, and build their own portfolio.” Easy to use, and packed with helpful information, this is a database you won’t want to miss exploring!
Mango uses real-life situations and actual conversations to more effectively teach a new language.
By listening to and repeating after material designed from native conversations, you'll not only learn the individual words and phrases, you'll know how they're used in practical situations and conversations.
You'll learn more than grammar, vocabulary and conjugation, you'll learn how to communicate.




Follow Us
Join Us