Library Board

The City of Lethbridge Library Board is established in accordance with the Alberta Libraries Act and Regulations. Ten Board trustees are appointed by Lethbridge City Council for a three year term and may be reappointed for two additional consecutive terms of office.

The City of Lethbridge Library Board operates under a policy governance model and is responsible for developing a Plan of Service, approving Board policies, preparing budgets, and employing the Chief Executive Officer.

Acting as one team, the Board and Library staff ensure that the community of Lethbridge enjoys the best library services possible.

  • Shandi Bleiken
  • Craig Brown, Chair
  • Brendan Cummins
  • Keith Gardner
  • Lindsay Hoffner
  • Terrence Lazarus
  • Norma Quaroni, Vice Chair
  • Yudith Ramos
  • Kassandra Tait
  • Angela Viola

General inquiries about the Board can be directed to Kat Short, Executive Assistant.

Kat Short
Phone: 403-380-7341

To contact the board directly, email

A delegation of the public may request a hearing before the Board by submitting a request to the Board Chair, or the CEO as Secretary to the Board, at least 14 calendar days before the meeting date at which they wish to be heard.  The request should indicate the topic, the number of people in the delegation, who the speaker will be and relevant contact information. The request should be emailed to . Each delegation will be given up to 5 minutes to address the Board (exclusive of questions from the Board).

Chair: elected for a term of 1 year. Consecutive terms are allowed.

Vice Chair: elected for a term of 1 year. Consecutive terms are allowed.

CEO: Secretary/Treasurer of the Board; non-voting Board member.

Standing Committees of the Board:

  • Advocacy Committee
  • Board/CEO Relations Committee
  • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Governance Committee
  • Strategic Planning Committee

Ad hoc committees may be struck from time to time by resolution of the Board

The City of Lethbridge Library Board relies on committed volunteers who willingly contribute both their time and their talents to support and advocate for library services. They also represent the community so that the Lethbridge Public Library is truly connected to the communities it serves.  Board members are appointed by Lethbridge City Council. To see available opportunities click here.

The City of Lethbridge Library Board believes in recognizing and celebrating the contributions that individuals and organizations make towards the Library. These efforts enhance our services and help us work to ensure that the Library is a welcoming, inclusive space that connects and strengthens our community.

Recognize someone’s outstanding Library service by nominating them for the Board Recognition Award. Nominations are accepted throughout the year and are confidential.  Deadline for submissions is the first Monday in February. Click here to submit a nomination.

All Board and Committee meetings are open to the public. The Board and Committees may close all or part of their meetings to the public if a matter to be discussed is within one of the exceptions to disclosure in Part 1, Division 2 of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act and its Regulation 18(1). All board meetings take place in the Community Meeting Room at the Main Branch Library, unless otherwise indicated.

Meeting Dates for 2024:

Annual General Meeting, January 10, 2024, 5:30pm

January 10, 2024, 5:45pm

February 14, 2024, 5:30pm

March 13, 2024, 5:30pm

April 10, 2024, 5:30pm

May 8, 2024, 5:30pm

June 12, 2024, 5:30pm

Special Meeting, July 29, 2024, 12:00pm (via Zoom)

September 11, 2024, 5:30pm (The Friends Place at the Crossings Branch)

October 9, 2024, 5:30pm

November 13, 2024, 5:30pm

December 11, 2024, 5:00pm (location to be determined)

Board Policies